Thursday, September 24, 2009

Obama Authorizes Aid to 4 of 17 Counties in GA

Governor Sonny Perdue just announced that the Obama administration has approved federal aid to only 4 of the 17 counties that were declared disaster areas in the wake of the flooding that struck the metro Atlanta area this week. While the waters are starting to recede, they are forecasting more rain in the coming days which could once again cause more flooding.

The counties approved, are by most accounts the ones hardest hit, Cobb, Douglas, Paulding, and Cherokee but you have to wonder why he didn't authorize it for all the affected areas. For the record all of those counties would be considered red counties so that sort of diffuses that argument, unless he thinks doing this will buy him votes. If he does, he don't know us real well.
Gov. Sonny Perdue announced Thursday that President Barack Obama has issued a federal disaster declaration to provide aid to residents of four Georgia counties in the wake of destructive flooding.

Individual assistance for recovery efforts will be given to residents of Cobb, Paulding, Douglas and Cherokee counties.

Perdue declared a state of emergency in 17 counties Monday. The part of his request covering other counties and for government buildings and public costs from the storm is still pending.

Quick note on the picture. That is the Great American Scream Machine roller coaster at Six Flags over Georgia. The parking lot for the commuter bus I take to work in the mornings is just to the right of that about a 1/4 mile, which is why I have been working from home this week.

No comments: